Mercantile Affairs, etc., p. 285
The four-story brick building on Washington Place was erected in 1870 by Seth W. Scofield, on the site of the old “Washington House.” The two stores on the ground floor are occupied by Henry Lockwood, the largest dealer in agricultural implements, house-furnishing goods, etc., in this section. His stock fills, besides the two stores, the basement floor and part of the second story. Mr. Lockwood is a native of Stamford. He began active life in 1861 as a clerk in Alvin Weed's store at North Stamford. He was employed as clerk for Mr. Scofield, whose store was then in Concert Hall Building, in 1866, and bought out the business in 1881. Mr. Scofield removed to Washington Place in 1870. The stores have a frontage of 48 feet, and a depth of 85 feet. The upper floors are rented for residence. The owner of the building is Walton Ferguson.
HENRY LOCKWOOD, WASHINGTON PLACE
pencilled note: “83 Main St.”
Picturesque Stamford, 1892
917.46 Stamford G