Marine Commerce and Yachting, pp. 205–214.
[The Patent Swimming-Baths, etc.]
The Patent Swimming-Baths at Enniston Park, on the extreme south end of Shippan Point, an illustration of which appears on this page, is one of the sea-side institutions of the town that may be appropriately noticed in this chapter. The baths are constructed on a plan designed and patented by John Ennis a few years ago, and they are becoming more popular every season as their unique advantages for salt water bathing are better understood by the public at large. Among the special advantages of this apparatus, in relation to the purpose intended, are the following: The depth of water in the bath can be regulated and held stationary at any desired level between high and low water mark.
Timid and delicate bathers who do not wish to enter the open water outside, are attracted by the easy convenience, comfort, safety and cleanliness of the enclosed and regulated water.
For ladies and children and for all desirous of learning to swim this bath furnishes unique and unequalled facilities. A traveling g trolley overhead, with a cord sustaining the swimmer, affords a safe, easy and effectual plan by which even young children and the most timid of adult bathers can rapidly acquire confidence and skill in the art of swimming.
“ENNISTON,” SHIPPAN POINT
Besides the peculiar and patented features of the Enniston Bathing Pavilion, it has the further advantage of location immediately upon a clean sandy beach, where, at flood tide, bathing in the open sea by expert swimmers may be enjoyed under the most attractive and convenient conditions to be found anywhere upon the coast of Connecticut.
SUMMERING AT SHIPPAN POINT
Incidental reference has already been made in this chapter to the Waterside Yacht Club. This organization was formed in March of the present year, and its successful inauguration and subsequent history are significant features of that renewed general interest in the sport which has been so apparent in the last few years.
The W. Y. C. includes in its membership the owners of most of the smaller class of pleasure sailing craft belonging to the port of Stamford. Its officers are: Commodore, George Serobogna; Vice-Commodore, Thomas Pritchard; Rear-Commodore. T. W.
Havee; Secretary, James B. Smith; Treasurer, E. F. W. Gillespie; Treasurer, Clarence Lockwood; Trustees, Frank H. Osborn, W. Cook, Philo C. Fuller; Membership Committee, Edward C. Bottomly, Fred. Schenck, C. Chapin, M. Bachelder, Harry Irving; Regatta Committee, P. W. Cuddy, E. C. Bottomly, W. Fabrey, W. Cook and J. B. Smith.
The original membership roll contained over forty names, and about as many more have since been added. The boats of the Club have already participated in a series of regattas for prizes offered by Commodore James D. Smith and others, and by the club itself.
Immediately following its organization the Club secured as its headquarters the premises formerly the storehouses upon "the old steamboat dock," so called, at the Waterside, and these were quickly transformed by the taste and enterprise of the leading members into attractive and convenient rooms for club uses. It commands a good view of the Harbor and Sound, and from the waters immediately adjacent the Club's races are started, thus affording to many interested spectators frequent opportunities to witness the start and finish of these interesting events.
The Club has also inaugurated a series of social receptions, These are attended by many ladies and other friends of the members, and are occasions of much enjoyment to all.
Wreck of Ennis' Patent Swimming Baths, Shippan Point, October 1894
Postcards: Fun at the Beach
Picturesque Stamford, 1892
917.46 Stamford G