Join  |  Official Historian  |  City of Stamford  |  Blog  |  About Us
Jewish Historical Society  |  Civil War Roundtable  |  Contact Us


Photo Archivist's Selection of the Month: November 2004

Hoyt Getman & Judd and The St. John Wood-Working Company

The Getman and Judd Company

Mill of St. John and HoytBeginning in 1853, the lumber company Fox and St. John, later named Hoyt and St. John and eventually Hoyt, Getman & Judd, carried on a large business at the canal dock. As the company grew, the manufacturing segment of the business was separated from the mercantile aspects and incorporated in 1885 under the name of The St. John Wood Working Company. The name of Hoyt was dropped from the above company in 1897 and Mr. Judd became president of Getman & Judd. He was also secretary-treasurer at the St. John Wood Working Company. Getman & Judd remained in the lumber business until 1965.


Harvey Hoyt
Charles H. Getman
William H. Judd
John St. John

From: Keeler, John E. "Manufacturing Interests of Stamford."
In Davis, William T., ed. "The New England States, vol. 2." Boston: D.H. Hurd & Co., 1879:

The site of both companies, 1892.

site of both companies in 1892

Lumber yards and planing mills are natural and necessary factors in the growth of any place where an ordinary amount of building is carried on, and as such would not seem to call for any extended description; but the establishment of this sort founded by Fox and St. John in 1853 has developed so largely beyond the scope of similar concerns, and has so widely diversified its product as to call for particular mention in this sketch. In 1867 Mr. Fox died and the firm became St. John & Hoyt, and in 1877, St. John, Hoyt & Co., through the addition of William H. Judd to the number of partners. Later, the firm became Hoyt. Getman & Judd, and is now Getman & Judd. By steady growth through these years the wholesale and retail lumber business of this concern assumed very large proportions, and the location on Broad street, in the upper part of the city, became too small for the convenient conduct of the business. A tract of seven acres lying along the canal with about 600 feet dock front was purchased, and extensive buildings for the storage and working of lumber erected, and the yard furnished with railroad spurs and sidings. In 1885 the business had grown so large that the ordinary lumber department was separated from that of manufacturing, and the latter was acquired by a corporation styled the St. John Woodworking Co., but owned entirely by the members of the lumber firm. In 1888 the capital stock was increased, and a considerable amount of it taken by the public at large. The product turned out by this company is most interesting in its variety, ranging from the common builders' wood work to the highest grade of interior cabinet finish. The company not only manufactures, but also does the work of interior finishing, and has executed many large contracts in New York city and throughout southern New England. The most approved machinery and mechanical devices are utilized in the manufacture, and between 150 and 200 men are employed. The close connection between the lumber firm and this company is mutually advantageous, and each enjoys a well-merited reputation for excellence of product extending over a wide field.

Getman & Judd

The story up to 1892 (Picturesque Stamford)
The Judd Home / Exhibit: Gracious Living in Stamford—look for individual photos in the various lifestyle settings.

We have a number of photos about Getman & Judd, mostly glass plates of 1898, from the Bogardus Collection.The others, with no known photographer and received in 1979 from an unknown donor, appear to be prints from the same group of glass plates, except for the dredging photo, which we cannot date.

Getman & Judd Lumberyard, 1898 Getman & Judd Lumberyard, 1898
Getman & Judd Lumberyard, 1898
Getman & Judd lumber yard, 1898. Barge at the canal. At the canal
Getman & Judd lumber yard, 1898. Barge at the canal. At the canal.
Vessel Marguerite M. Wemyss, Boston text
Vessel Chas. D. Hall
'Looking down Canal'
Vessel Marguerite M. Wemyss, Boston “Looking down Canal”
F.S. Wardwell dredges canal. Unknown date.
F.S. Wardwell dredges canal. Unknown date.

The St. John Wood-Working Co.

The story up to 1892 (Picturesque Stamford)

St. John's Wood-Working Co., probably 1898 Hardwood and Cabinet Department, St. John Wood-working Company, 1892
St. John Wood-Working Co., probably 1898 Hardwood and Cabinet Department c. 1892 (Picturesque Stamford)
text text
Boy at printing press – unknown date Employees outside the mill, 1900

Photos © Stamford Historical Society

back to top

Other Photo Archivist Selections of the Month
Photo Collection Information